Trinicenter TrinbagoPan RootsWomen HowComYouCom

Commonwealth 'to re-admit' Zimbabwe
Posted: Monday, February 10, 2003

(BBC) Australia, Nigeria and South Africa are the three countries in the "troika" named by the Commonwealth to oversee its response to the situation in Zimbabwe, and which pressed for its suspension from the organisation last year.

They were due to meet next month to review Zimbabwe's suspension from the Commonwealth committees.

But the decision by Nigeria and South Africa to cancel the meeting would effectively see Zimbabwe readmitted to the 54-nation grouping of mainly former British colonies, Mr Howard admitted.

More from BBC's Tainted Coverage

Print Printer friendly version
Email page Send page by E-Mail


Previous Page | Zimbabwe Watch | Historical Views | Home     Back to top

Page 1 - Page 2 - Page 3 - Page 4 - Page 5 - Page 6

NOTICE: All articles are the copyright property of the writers. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C., section 107, some material on this site is provided without permission from the copyright owner, only for purposes of criticism, comment, scholarship and research under the "fair use" provisions of federal copyright laws. Visit: for more details. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. - Another 100% non-profit Website
Africa Speaks

Map of Africa

Black African Focus

U.S Coup in Haiti

Zimbabwe: Land Reform and Mugabe

Trinidad and Tobago News


Message Board